Louis CK honors George Carlin

I’ve had two truly lasting and fulfilling passions in my life that have deeply affected me; Hip-Hop and Comedy. From the 80s through to today, I’ve listened to as much stand-up as I have Hip-Hop and Rap and as youd expect, samples, scratches and sound-bites in Hip-Hop led me to discover the talents of people like Redd Foxx, Richard Pryor, Robin Harris, Paul Mooney and older names like Garrett Morris and La Wanda Page. Subconsciously, people like Hicks and Kinison, Robert Klein, Cosby and Seinfeld, Eddie Murphy and more recently Chris Rock, Patrice O’Neal and Lewis Black have also had a lasting effect on the way I’ve looked at the world and treated the people around me, but more than any other im a huge George Carlin fan, and to my knowledge, there has been no other comedian in my life-time that did what he did, and crafted his comedy in such an enduring way.

As the second season of FX show ‘Louie’ came to an end this week, and as its Louies 44th birthday this coming Monday, I simply wanted to post a clip that features Louie CK [IMO, the sharpest comedy writer/ comedian of my generation] speaking about the importance and the influence George Carlin had on him and his career. This is a touching tribute from March 24 last year. If you havent seen Louies show on FX, get yer act together.

 

No other stand-up worked so hard to spread the truth to the people of the world by simply being humorous, telling jokes and doing ‘bits’. Personally, George Carlin was the finest comedian of my time to address socio and counter-cultural issues as well as making political comment, fundamentally by ramming it down the audiences throats with his feverish and intense delivery. I liked him because he was a force that didnt care if you didnt like him, he simply wanted people to wake-up to the world around them. There was something distinguished yet down to earth about him, something very special about the way the Roman Catholic born New Yorker grabbed hold of the repressed truth within people, and how he shook that shit out of them to make them laugh.

Carlin was a truly profound comic who died in 2008, he was 71 and obviously had a great run, and I happily admit to shedding more than a single tear when I learnt of his passing [I also cried when Bernie Mac died, but surprisingly never when a Rapper, DJ or Producer has passed, and I’ve been listening to Hip-Hop much longer than I’ve truly understood the science of stand-up].

 

Carlin did endless HBO specials and numerous albums which are ALL worth investigating. Louie is up for his second Emmy Award next week too…

6 responses to “Louis CK honors George Carlin

  1. CO SIGN THAT >>>> Louie CK [IMO, the sharpest comedy writer/ comedian of my generation] – have you seen his Conan appearance?

    • No doubt Dan, you know that screen-test tape of the girls yelling GOODBYE JEWS needs to be used as a closer by ya boy Yoda, and the ‘dogs just stay dumb’ vs fatherhood bit was great. He’s really advancing stand-up/ sit-down comedy, and its so refreshing to see it on a show like that, the two of them go way-back obvs…I really hope he comes away with another Emmy next week.

      Did you watch Lucky Louie? Its raw like Antonio, but thats evidently a great thing with CK, gonna give it a blast soon too

      Hope yer well

      CL

  2. ha ha already had goodbye jews as the closer for Unthugged 3D !! (coming soon)
    I’ll check out lucky louie now- thanks for heads up
    catch ya soon

  3. Yeah man, so glad you made this post. Carlin is responsible partially for my complete outlook on things. “It’s a big club, and you aint in it..”
    And Louis is absolutely the greatest comedian since Carlin, imho. I still haven’t given Bill Hicks a fair chance aside from one stand up i saw that I felt underwhelmed off after hearing so much hype. I will peep more of his stuff after your co-sign.

    • Cheers Verge. “It’s a big club, and you aint in it..” Classic material !

      The teachings of Carlin I guess you could call em right ? Carlins honesty was unforgiving, for me that is exactly why I get CK, that relentless truth telling and twisted sensibility, via humour. Carlin did soooo much too, an output that Louis obvs mentions in the NYPL clip, a truly great source of inspiration

      So happy that Louie is going to Season3, and no matter what is said, I really enjoyed the left turns this series, Stanhope, the swingers etc, top stuff, so what if it wasnt an endless selection of lols, its still a great show with plenty of ‘funnies’

      Hicks wasnt afraid to say what was going on with his touring and endless shows [its called ranting], he told his audience EXACTLY how he felt about the solitary and arduous elements of what he was doing. Sometimes to his detriment.

      “Good evening, my name is Bill Hicks. I’ve been on the road now doing comedy 12 years, so, uh, bear with me while I plaster on a fake smile and plow through this shit one more time”. …

      A personal favourite…

  4. agreed, spot on with that first paragraph Craig, you should write shit for, I dunno, somebody, and get paid for it, cause that’s exactly how I would say it except for the fact that I can’t articulate as well as most, hah.
    I’m honestly surprised that Louis got another season, though I’m mad happy about. I’m just surprised cause I feel like you have to be a certain very realistic dark muhfugga to love that show. Like you said, sure every episode wasn’t full of the laughs but still so on point. shit nobody would make a show about. I dunno, can’t really explain it, but it’s damn great.
    that Stanhope one was probably my favorite one as well. I’m a fan of that dude too, but only from what i’ve seen so far which is only one stand up and this, lol.

Leave a Reply

